Good To Great Mentality

Waking up to workout this morning was TOUGH. I left the gym in my hotel last night at about ten so when my alarm clock rang this morning at five I wasn’t too thrilled. Add to that the fact that this whole push up, pull up and sit up regime has me as sore as I’ve ever felt, it would have been easy to roll back over and sleep for another hour or so. I didn’t though, a big win in the mental fortitude game.

I got an awesome chance to relay some of the incredible information I learned from Jim Collins’ book “Good to Great” to some others today. Basically, a business that I work with has a couple of individuals that I view as high potential. Lately however, these guys have been caught in a bit of a quagmire, they’re not producing improvement in their results and I’ve been witnessing a lot of excuse making and finger pointing.

I did my best to impart some things that I’ve learned¬†recently on leadership and ownership, I think it stuck. The business that these guys work for is extremely high output and high energy. Management is constantly looking for ways to push the boundaries on customer experience and as a result, there isn’t a ton of time to be micro managing on a day to day level (I know some people would see this and shout praises from the rooftops). The only issue with this that we uncovered is the fact that my buddies weren’t feeling empowered to make decisions that would ultimately effect the customer experience and the business.

That’s where Jim Collins’ “Hedgehog concept” came in. At the end of the day, the business in question is highly focused on customer experience. Being a car dealership, their ultimate goal is to provide a car buying and owning experience that no other manufacturer or dealership can duplicate. Today, with this knowledge of the dealership’s “Hedgehog concept” in mind (See “Good to Great” book review for a better explanation of what that means) we gave these two high potential employees full autonomy to operate within the dealership’s primary focus. Ultimately, if these guys decide to make a decision that results in the customer receiving a better experience than they would have otherwise, they have management’s support in taking action.

When Collins and his research team identified high performing companies, this is one of the main things they found! Companies with passionate, engaged and skilled employees that allow them full autonomy to make informed decisions which fall within the company’s guiding principles are bar-none the most effective. Period.

 

Where do you fit within your company or organization’s hierarchy? Are you engaged and passionate about what you do? Does your company have a guiding idea or principle which influences each and every decision that not only management, but every employee makes every day?

 

Workout:

  • 13 Mile bike ride at just under 19 mph
This entry was posted in Business and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

