Home Sweet Home

I never thought I would say this, but I am so thankful to be home from vacation. With all of the effort I am currently putting into improving myself and getting in incredible physical shape, being on vacation is tough and stressful. I did my best to eat well and exercise however when you’re with a group of your best friends from college in Key West Florida, that is easier said than done.

I didn’t get a chance to do much reading today, I was completely drained on the flight this morning. However, I did watch a couple of really awesome biographies which put some things into perspective for me. First, the internet is truly incredible. The fact that essentially every bit of information from all of the smartest people in the history of the world is immediately at my fingertips is mind-blowing. I am truly starting to regret the fact that I wasted a portion of my life not actively looking to learn absorb information. That’s alright, better late than never.

Anyways, I watched biographical documentaries on both Warren Buffet and Bill Gates today. I was zoning out a big during the Buffet one because I was so tired, but there were a number of recurring themes which follow right along with the themes of most of the other information that I’ve been consuming lately.

Maybe the top three are:

  1. Both Buffet and Gates had an irrefutable passion for their respective field from a very young age.
  2. Warren and Bill III (I didn’t know that he was a third, they actually called him Tre when he was younger) are both and always have been avid readers and lifelong learners. Their ability to consume and retain information is truly stunning, how cool would it be to have photographic memory?!?
  3. Buffet and Gates are both tireless workers. The reason that each of these men has been able to amass a net worth of billions isn’t just because they were smarter, or they were lucky, or they had rich parents. The reason is that they identified a focus, learned a ton about it, and worked towards it with unrivaled intensity and fervor. I think it’s super important to note that neither of them were just running around helter skelter throwing things against the wall until they stuck, they both knew exactly what to focus on.

In summation, if you find something that you’re passionate about, learn a ton about it, and put in more effort towards it than anyone else, the success will follow.

Great workouts today:

  1. 40 minutes of yoga and pilates. I found a Youtube channel called Sean Vigue Fitness. He does some incredible stretching and Yoga stuff, I can feel my core, chest and arms getting noticeably stronger already. This included 100 pushups as well.
  2. 20 minutes on the rowing machine at the gym to get a good sweat going.
  3. 30 minutes on the stationary bike. I got behind the 3:00 mile pace early but battled back and ended up making it 10.1 miles in 30 minutes.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

