Empathy

There is no doubt that this is something that I struggle with. For some reason or another, I have been primarily focused on my self through out the course of my life rather than others. I think a lot of times that causes me to act in ways that if given a chance, I may have slightly adjusted what I said or did.

Over the last couple of years, I have been working very hard at learning to see the world through the eyes of other people. Although sometimes very difficult, when I have the chance, I try and reflect for a moment or two and think about the ways in which my next action could affect those around me, rather than just myself.

Another really important part of this for me is the necessity to listen fully when having conversations with others. My mind just runs so quickly and sporadically that if I don’t focus and dedicate my attention to what others are saying, I end up in a completely different world. This is definitely noticeable to people and after I realize that I’m doing it, I can often feel them shutting off to the conversation.

Fortunately, thanks to books like “How to Win Friends and Influence People,” it is possible to learn skills like empathy. Through effort, time and focus, I hope to develop the ability to listen and understand others, and see things from their point of view. I think this will go a very long way in my ultimate success. 

In other news, I had some really solid workouts today. I started out this morning doing Sean Vigue’s 15 minute warmup, then 20 minute pullup and pilates. Then tonight once I got back to Syracuse, I did a 20 minute session on the rowing machine and another forty minutes on the stair stepper. That thing is no joke.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

