Control Your Controllables

When I worked for Wrigley for 18 months, I had a boss who was extremely influential on me. Like my current boss, she placed a huge emphasis on talent development, which was crucial for me in terms of becoming successful in the corporate world.

While I don’t hear from her too much anymore, one lesson that I will never forget that she taught me is the title “Control Your Controllables.” While WordPress is telling me that controllables isn’t a word, I’m going to run with it.

Basically, the idea here is that as you make your way through life, there are going to be countless situations that you cannot control. A situation in which no matter how hard you try, something or someone is getting in your way can be extremely frustrating, however the lesson that I’ve tried to apply from my mentor was that I need to learn to accept those things for the way they are. It doesn’t mean to give up, rather, it means to find a way to be successful no matter what, and in spite of that roadblock.

One specific example that can be considered, particularly as it comes to health and fitness is genetics. Sure, some people are naturally much more athletically gifted than others, its just a fact of life. Does that however mean that those with less natural born athletic talent should sit around and become couch potatoes? NO! It is the responsibility of everyone to become the best person they can become. Or at least to become the person that they want to be.

Ultimately, it comes down to that one guiding principle – are you willing to do whatever it takes to reach your goals?

Solid Workouts today:

  1. I’m going to try to get through Jeff Cavaliere’s 90 Day Athlean X Training Program. Today I started from day one for the second time in three weeks, I am going to avoid the distractions that caused me to fall of the plan last time.
  2. 40 minute intense stretching and core video with Sean Vigue. There were some positions that made me feel extremely uncomfortable however my body felt pretty good when it was all said and done.

 

This entry was posted in Mindset and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Control Your Controllables

  1. dori says:

    great post – very true

Leave a Reply

